Reconstructing Holiday

img_6135

Last week the Captain and I abandoned the dull cold and drizzly weather of January in the UK for the sunnier climes of nine days in Tenerife.  And it was just a little bit fabulous.  To lounge around in shorts and tee shirts under blue skies and warm sunshine really was delightful.  We read books, walked walks, ate masses of fish and even drank a soupçon of gin.  Perfect.

We got back on Wednesday to a letter from Surgical Spice.  Apparently they anticipate a bed being available for me on the 9th of March for the next phase of my reconstruction.  Oo er!  I know she said March last time we met, but somehow I had sort of consigned it to the realms of Sometime Never so it came as something of a surprise.  I am a bit dim like that.  However, I am not sorry.  I had a total meltdown on holiday over my unbalanced state.  My last minute packing had meant I could not find my mastectomy swimming costume so there was no point in taking my prosthesis.  I did pack other costumes but when push came to shove, I could not face the pool.  It is one thing to go about unbalanced in a bra, fully clothed, when quite frankly, it is pretty much impossible to tell (for reasons I do not understand but there we have it), but it is an entirely different matter to do so in a swimming costume.  And I just could not do it.  So the lopping and trimming of my right boob and the plumping and adjusting of my left is coming at the perfect time.

There is, however, the small matter of having a clear mammogram first.  Since cancer came to play, I get to have mammograms on an annual basis for five years and I am due one very soon.  So, February is going to bring a whole host of appointments as I gear up for yet more surgery.  Fun fun fun!

4 thoughts on “Reconstructing Holiday

  1. Does that mean you will be having a convalescing weekend in Norfolk on 18th still?
    Happy to oblige with some DVD catch ups and a modicum of gin to help the healing process xx

    Like

  2. Oh I’m so glad you’re ok. Was getting a bit worried as you’d been so quiet, but somewhere in the back of my mind I did have an inkling that you might have mentioned you’d be on holiday.

    Sorry to hear about the meltdown, but great news on the surgery front. Keeping everything crossed for a clear mammogram for you x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

