Patch Testing

k-rashes-enhd-ar1

Oh my, this week has been a long time coming.  Surgical Spice referred me back in March but some how the referral got lost.  It took much investigation to rediscover it and this was the third attempt at appointments.  But at long last the process has begun.

Now that it has, I am not sure why I was so keen.  This morning I spent three hours in a different part of the hospital at a different clinic waiting in yet another waiting room.  I am beginning to think I should start playing Hospital Department Bingo – I must be in with a chance of Full House.  Today, I had an extensive history taken.  The Vicks story was recounted but not so many laughs this time.  Allergies are serious business here.  Following this, vast quantities of little squares with suspected allergens in were stuck to my back.  With tape.  Adhesive tape.  Which looked suspiciously like the sort of tape that I have been reacting too.  To give the staff their due, they were concerned.  But had no option.

‘If you feel your skin beginning to blister, do take it off, won’t you?’

they said.  Given that these patches are plastered all over my back I am not entirely sure how I do this.  I cannot see them, I cannot reach them, and some are on numbed areas of skin.  I think I just endure and hope for the best.

I was sent away with instructions not to bathe or shower for the rest of the week (argh!!) and to return on Wednesday and Friday for progress assessments and results.  Currently my back feels horribly itchy and on fire.  So I guess something is happening.  This had better come up with some answers.  What I need is to discover what it is that makes my skin go bonkers with adhesive dressings and to find an alternative prior to my next bout of surgery.

It has to be said that that I am more than a little concerned that I have made the whole thing up and that my Mother was right and we do not have allergies in our family.  Time will tell.

In other news, I heard from the Genetics Unit and based on the information provided I am unlikely to be at risk from one of the known cancer predisposition genes so no further screening will be required.  This is seriously excellent and another one to put to bed.

Leave a Reply

