Moving Forward

hot-flush

There are two things I have been getting up to without telling you.  Both relate to my recovery.  Both are about progress.  I hope.  Both exhaust me.  But so does getting out of bed so that is not news.

First up, is Breast Cancer Care’s Moving Forward Course.  As I approached the end of my chemo I had a sort of mental tick list of Things to be Done.  And this was on it.  I did not stop to consider whether or not it would be beneficial.  I just signed up assuming it would be.  I am now half way through the four weeks.  For the past two Monday mornings I have been found in the building where most of my midwifery theory was delivered.  It is more than a little strange being back there, especially under such differing circumstances.  So far, I am not sure I have learned anything new.  For me, the benefit has been to be in room with nearly twenty others who have been treated for primary breast cancer.  We are all at differing stages of recovery.  I think I am the most recently out of chemo, most seem to be about a year on from active treatment.  The best moments are when one person voices a concern or expresses an opinion and a ripple of recognition or agreement trickles round the room.  We have much in common.

Secondly, I have been tackling my hot flushes.  Or rather, my hot flushes are being tackled for me.  Remember the lovely Complementary Therapy team that I had been referred to?  From them I received reflexology treatment during each chemo cycle and it was wonderful.  Having completed that, they then signed me up for Auricular Acupuncture to treat my hot flushes which are still a sight to behold.  At times, my glasses steam up, such is their force.  Auricular Acupuncture has a good reputation for treating hot flushes so when I trotted along for my first session on Wednesday, I had high hopes.  There were four of us being treated and we were arranged in chemo style recliners before having both ears stabbed with five needles.  The initial discomfort soon wore off and the next thirty minutes floated by in a dim lit haze to waft-y pan pipe-y music.  Keeping my eyes open at the end of the session was harder than usual and I foresee sleeping overcoming at some point during the next seven sessions.  Already though, I have noticed a difference.  I have still had some ferocious flushes but overall they have been far less.

My only other news is that I am tireder than a tired thing popping tired pills at the Tired Olympics.

Leave a Reply

