Hi ho, hi ho!

Seven Dwarfs cropped

You would be forgiven for thinking I did not have a job.  After all, since I started this blog work has not exactly been a big part of it.  However, I am not normally given to doing nothing.  Since an accident in 2010 forced me to take a change in direction, I have been making jam.  Since 2012 I have run my own business.  It is small but, I like to think, perfectly formed.

Running a food business from a house without a kitchen is a challenge I could not rise above so my plan had been to decamp to our boat and jam there until my new kitchen was complete.  However first my recall, then my slipped disc and finally my diagnosis has distracted me from this somewhat.  It is not so much that cancer precludes me from making jam, it is just that I need to focus on the boiling cauldron of sugary fruit in front of me when I do it.  Strangely cancer has robbed me of the ability to concentrate on anything.

I made an announcement on my business website & Facebook page explaining I would be taking a break and thought that was that for the time being.  And then last Tuesday at 5 o’clock in the morning I woke in a cold sweat.  I had an order of wedding favours, booked and paid for eighteen months in advance, due to be dispatched before Easter.

So today I have been working.  The Captain had previously expressed an interest in learning to make jam.   Today he had his first lesson.  What can I say?  The boy done good.  Just as well, frankly, as I was pretty useless.  Monday’s operation may only have been minor in comparison with the forthcoming one but it has left my arm much weaker.  I dread to think how much harder it is going to be after the next one.

There was something satisfying in getting the order packed up and ready for dispatch.  But I am glad there is nothing else outstanding.  My apron is well and truly hung up for the time being.

2 thoughts on “Hi ho, hi ho!

Leave a Reply

