Zzzzzz

Sleep

I slept!  Oh I slept!!  John Keats was not wrong you know.  Sleep really is the ‘soft embalmer of the still midnight’, it really can bring ‘forgetfulness divine’ (apart from bizarre dreams on the importance of wearing quality brown mackintoshes.  I mean really?  Brown??  So not my colour, darlings), it ‘soothest’, it ‘Save[s] me from curious Conscience’ and ‘seal[s] the hushed Casket of my Soul.’  Irritatingly, I still woke at bloody hell o’clock (anything before 6:30am) but on this occasion it was at least proper day time and I was feeling refreshed, bright and even breezy.  Though that may have been down to yesterday’s onions.  Goodness, just made a fart joke!  This blog is really bringing out a lavatorial side I did not know existed.  Let’s blame it on the cancer, shall we?  Seems best.  And probably a safer bet than the armed robbery I suggested to the Captain we undertake on the day of diagnosis.  In my head it went like this:

‘But Officer, I only committed this bank heist while the balance of my mind was disturbed.’

‘Completely understandable, Madam.  Allow me to carry the loot to your car.’

The Captain’s version went like this:

‘But Officer, I only committed this bank heist while the balance of my mind was disturbed.’

‘I have it on reasonable authority, Madam, that the balance of your mind is always disturbed.’

I rather fear his would have been closer to the truth.

So there you have it, people.  I have said it before and I’ll say it again: information is power.  For me, it can also bring peace.

Today, I am visiting the Emma Bridgewater factory with one of the Serious Delinquents. The sun is shining.  The daffodils are peeping.  I have read some Keats before 9am.  All is well with the world.  Almost.  Bollox.  Nearly forgot there.

Leave a Reply

